Plenary Speaker

Roberto Rodriguez

Special Assistant to the President for Education Policy

Plenary Speaker

James H. Shelton III

Acting Deputy Secretary for the U.S. Department of Education



Clifford Adelman

Senior Associate, Institute for Higher Education Policy

Randy Bennett

Norman O. Frederiksen Chair in Assessment Innovation, Research & Development Division, Educational Testing Service (ETS)

Peggy Carr

Associate Commissioner for Assessment, National Center for Education Statistics

Michael Casserly

Executive Director, Council of the Great City Schools



Louis Danielson

Managing Director, American Institutes for Research

Matthew DiCarlo

Senior Fellow, the Albert Shanker Institute

David Driscoll

Chair, National Assessment Governing Board

John Easton

Director, Institute of Education Sciences



Pat Forgione

Distinguished Presidential Scholar and Executive Director, K-12 Center at Educational Testing Service

Alan Friedman

Chair, 25th Anniversary Planning Committee; Museum Consultant; Former Member, National Assessment Governing Board


Frederick M. Hess

Resident Scholar and Director of Education Policy Studies, American Enterprise Institute

Terry Holliday

Kentucky Education Commissioner; President, Council of Chief State School Officers



Cornelia Orr

Executive Director, National Assessment Governing Board

Gary Phillips

Vice President, American Institutes for Research

Susan Pimentel

Vice-Chair, National Assessment Governing Board; Co-Founder, StandardsWork

Alexa Posny

Senior Vice President, Renaissance Learning; Former Assistant Secretary, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education



Charlene Rivera

Research Professor and Executive Director, The George Washington University Center for Equity and Excellence in Education

Richard Rothstein

Research Associate, Economic Policy Institute

Andy Smarick

Partner, Bellwether Education Partners

Ben Wildavsky

Director of Higher Education Studies, Rockefeller Institute, State University of New York (SUNY) at Albany



Gene Wilhoit

Former Executive Director, Council of Chief State School Officers


Working Dinner Speakers

Lucille Davy

Board Member, National Assessment Governing Board; President and CEO, Transformative Education Solutions, LLC; Senior Advisor, The Hunt Institute

Michael Feuer

Dean of the Graduate School of Education and Human Development, George Washington University

Mark Musick

Quillen Chair of Excellence in Teaching and Learning, East Tennessee State University

Charles Smith

Former Executive Director, National Assessment Governing Board


Roy Truby

Former Senior Vice President, State and Federal Programs, Renaissance Learning

Darvin Winick

Advisor, NAEP 12th Grade Preparedness Commission;Executive Director, Institute for Public School Initiatives, The University of Texas at Austin