Board Members

National Assessment Governing Board (2019–2020)


Haley Barbour, Chair
BGR Group, Founding Partner
Yazoo City, Mississippi

Tonya Matthews, Vice Chair
Director of STEM Learning Innovation
Wayne State University, Detroit, Michigan


Dana K. Boyd
East Point Elementary School
El Paso, Texas

Alberto M. Carvalho
Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Miami, Florida

Gregory J. Cizek
Guy B. Phillips
Distinguished Professor of Educational
  Measurement and Evaluation
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Tyler W. Cramer
CEO and Executive Manager
Remarc Associates LLC
San Diego, California

Honorable James E. Geringer
Former Governor of Wyoming
Cheyenne, Wyoming

Eric Hanushek
Hanna Senior Fellow
Hoover Institution
Stanford, California

Andrew Dean Ho
Charles William Eliot Professor
  of Education
Harvard Graduate School of Education
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Patrick L. Kelly
Coordinator of Professional Learning
Twelfth-Grade Teacher
Richland School District Two
Columbia, South Carolina

Terry Mazany
Senior Vice President
Community Foundation for Greater
Atlanta, Georgia

Reginald McGregor
Manager, Engineering Employee
  Development & STEM Outreach
Rolls Royce Corporation
Indianapolis, Indiana

Mark Miller
Eigth Grade Mathematics Teacher and
  Department Chair
Cheyenne Mountain Junior High
Colorado Springs, CO

Joseph M. O'Keefe, S.J.
Visiting Professor and Fellow
Fordham University Graduate School
  of Education
New York, New York

Christine Cunningham
Professor of Education and
College of Education
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, Pennsylvania

Frank Edelblut
New Hampshire Department of
Concord, New Hampshire

Rebecca Gagnon
Former Director
Minneapolis Board of Education
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Paul Gasparini
Secondary School Principal
Jamesville-DeWitt High School
DeWitt, New York

Honorable Alice H. Peisch
State Legislator
Massachusetts House of
Wellesley, Massachusetts

Honorable Beverly Perdue
Former Governor of North Caroline
New Bern, North Carolina

Nardi Routten
Fourth-Grade Teacher
Chester A. Moore Elementary School
Fort Pierce, Florida

Martin R. West
Massachusetts Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education
Professor of Education 
Harvard Graduate School of Education
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Grover J. "Russ" Whitehurst
Professor Emeritus
Stony Brook University
Fort Myers, Florida

Carey M. Wright
State Superintendent
Mississippi Department of Education
Jackson, Mississippi

Ex-officio Member
Mark Schneider
Institute of Education Sciences