NAGB Header Image

2010 History Framework

U.S. History Framework for the 2010 National Assessment of Educational Progress

Since 1969, the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) has been the sole, ongoing national indicator of what students in the United States know and can do in major academic subjects. Over the years, NAEP has measured students’ achievement in many subjects including reading, mathematics, science, writing, geography, civics, and the arts. NAEP is a congressionally authorized project administered by the U.S. Department of Education’s National Center for Education Statistics. The National Assessment Governing Board sets policy for NAEP. Among the Board’s congressionally mandated responsibilities are selecting subject areas to be assessed, developing assessment objectives and specifications, determining appropriate student achievement levels, and other duties.

Under provisions of the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001 (Public Law 107–110), Congress authorized the Board to continue its mandate for determining the content and format of NAEP assessments. While NCLB requires NAEP to assess reading and mathematics every 2 years in grades 4 and 8, the legislation permits the assessment of other subjects such as science, writing, U.S. history, civics, geography, and other areas, to the extent time and resources allow.

The assessment will be conducted at the national level, in public and nonpublic schools, at grades 4, 8, and 12.

Download a PDF of the framework
Download a DOC of the framework
Learn more about framework development