NAGB Header Image

2007 Nominations

Spellings Appoints Four New Members to National Assessment Governing Board

U.S. Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings has announced the appointment of four new members of the National Assessment Governing Board, as well as four reappointments. The new appointees, nominated in 2005, are: Robin C. Hall, principal, Beecher Hills Elementary School, Atlanta, Georgia James S. Lanich, president, California Business for Education Excellence, Sacramento, California Alan J. Friedman, director and CEO, New York Hall of Science, Queens, New York Cynthia Nava, New Mexico State Senator, Las Cruces, New Mexico Spellings also reappointed Governing Board Chairman Darvin Winick of Austin, Texas; Amanda Avallone of Boulder, Colo.; Kim Kozbial-Hess of Toledo, Ohio; and Oscar Troncoso of El Paso, Texas.