banner Technology and Engineering Literacy Framework for the 2014 NAEP
NAEP Technology And Engineering Literacy Project Committees And Staff

NAEP Technology and Engineering Literacy Project Committees and Staff

Steering Committee

  • Don Knezek, Co-Chair
    International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)
    Washington, DC
  • Johnny Moye
    Career and Technical Education
    Chesapeake Public Schools
    Chesapeake, VA
  • Senta Raizen, Co-Chair
    Director, National Center for Improving Science Education
    Washington, DC
  • Willard (Bill) Nott
    Engineers Without Borders
    Castro Valley, CA
  • Jennifer Barrett
    Manager, Professional Development
    Washington, DC
  • Philip Patterson
    National Christian School Association
    Oklahoma City, OK
  • Phillip "Scott" Bevins
    Director of Institutional Research
    The University of Virginia's College at Wise
    Wise, VA
  • Greg Pearson
    Senior Program Officer
    National Academy of Engineering
    Washington, DC
  • Laura Bottomley
    Director, K-12 Outreach
    College of Engineering
    North Carolina State University
    Raleigh, NC
  • Andrea Prejean
    Senior Policy Analyst
    National Education Association
    Washington, DC
  • Rodger Bybee
    Rodger Bybee & Associates
    Golden, CO
  • Ryan Reyna
    Policy Analyst, Education Division
    National Governors Association
    Washington, DC
  • Shelley Canright
    Outcome Manager, NASA Elementary, Secondary and eEducation Program
    Washington, DC
  • Linda Roberts
    Senior Advisor and Consultant
    Former Director, Office of Educational Technology, US Department of Education
    Washington, DC
  • Vinton (Vint) Cerf
    Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist
    Reston, VA
  • Jean Slattery
    Senior Associate, Science
    Achieve, Inc.
    Washington, DC
  • John Cherniavsky
    Senior Advisor for Research
    National Science Foundation
    Arlington, VA
  • Yvonne Spicer
    Vice President
    Advocacy & Educational Partnerships
    National Center for Technological Literacy
    Museum of Science
    Boston, MA
  • Matt Dawson
    Director, REL Midwest
    Chief Officer, Research Learning Point Associates
    Partnership for 21st Century Skills
    Naperville, IL
  • Kendall Starkweather
    Executive Director / CEO
    International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA)
    Reston, VA
  • Heidi Glidden
    Assistant Director
    American Federation of Teachers
    Washington, DC
  • Martha Thurlow
    National Center on Educational Outcomes
    University of Minnesota
    Minneapolis, MN
  • Paige Johnson
    Global K-12 Education Manager Corporate Affairs
    Intel Corporation
    Portland, OR
  • Mary Ann Wolf
    Executive Director
    State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA)
    Arlington, VA
  • Colleen Layman
    Society of Women Engineers
    Manager of Water Treatment
    Bechtel Power Corporation
    Harpers Ferry, WV

Planning Committee

  • Edys Quellmalz, Co-Chair
    Director, Technology Enhanced Assessments and Learning Systems
    Redwood City, CA
  • Janet Kolodner
    Regents' Professor, Interactive Computing
    Georgia Institute of Technology
    Atlanta, GA
  • Cary Sneider, Co-Chair
    Associate Research Professor
    Portland State University
    Portland, OR
  • Ellen Mandinach
    Deputy Director, REL Appalachia
    CNA Education
    Alexandria, VA
  • Marie Aloia
    Society of Women Engineers
    Engineering and Physical Sciences
    Bayonne High School
    Bayonne, NJ
  • Sylvia Martinez
    Generation YES
    Torrance, CA
  • David Ashdown
    Coordinator for Instructional Technology Integration Programs
    Washington-Saratoga-Warren-Hamilton-Essex, Board of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES)
    Saratoga Springs, NY
  • Pete Ribadeneira
    Pasteur Middle School
    San Juan Unified School District
    Orangevale, CA
  • Carlos Ayala
    Associate Professor of Education
    California State University – Sonoma
    Rohnert Park, CA
  • Saul Rockman
    Rockman et al
    San Francisco, CA
  • Susan Brooks-Young
    SJ Brooks-Young Consulting
    Lopez, WA
  • Marlene Scott
    Elementary Principal
    Chesterfield County Public Schools
    President, Technology Education Children's Council (TECC)
    Midlothian, VA
  • Per Christiansen
    Assessment Content Specialist
    Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
    Malden, MA
  • Mary Ellen Scott
    Pre-Engineering Department Chair
    St. Edward High School
    Lakewood, OH
  • Gordon K. Dahlby
    Director of Curriculum and Technology
    West Des Moines Community School District
    West Des Moines, IA
  • Sharif Shakrani
    Measurement and Quantitative Methods
    Director, Education Policy Center
    Michigan State University
    East Lansing, MI
  • William E. Dugger, Jr.
    Senior Fellow
    International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA)
    Hobe Sound, FL / Blacksburg, VA
  • Guillermo (Willy) Solano-Flores
    University of Colorado, Boulder
    Boulder, CO
  • Maurice T. Frazier
    High School Technology Education
    Chesapeake Public School System
    Chesapeake, VA
  • Wanda T. Staggers
    Dean of Computer, Engineering, and Industrial Technologies
    Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College
    Orangeburg, SC
  • Camilla Gagliolo
    Instructional Technology Coordinator
    Arlington Public Schools
    Arlington, VA
  • Tehyuan Wan
    Education Technology Initiatives
    New York State Education Department
    Albany, NY
  • Jocelyn Garcia-Thome
    Manager, Corporate Citizenship and Corporate Affairs
    IBM Corporation
    San Jose, CA
  • Brenda Williams
    Executive Director
    West Virginia Department of Education
    Office of Instructional Technology
    Charleston, WV
  • Joan Herman
    Director, National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Testing (CRESST)
    Los Angeles, CA

National Assessment Governing Board Staff

  • Mary Crovo
    Deputy Executive Director
    Washington, DC
  • Michelle Blair
    Senior Research Associate
    Washington, DC

Wested Staff

  • Kevin Jordan
    Research Assistant, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Redwood City, CA
  • Edys Quellmalz
    Director, Technology Enhanced Assessments & Learning Systems, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Redwood City, CA
  • Joyce Kaser
    Senior Program Associate, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Albuquerque, NM
  • Senta Raizen
    Director, National Center for Improving Science Education
    Washington, DC
  • Kathleen Lepori
    Program Coordinator, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Redwood City, CA
  • Steve Schneider
    Senior Program Director, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Redwood City, CA
  • Mark Loveland
    Research Associate, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Redwood City, CA
  • Matt Silberglitt
    Senior Research Associate, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Oakland, CA
  • May Miller-Ricci
    Program Assistant, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Redwood City, CA
  • Mike Timms
    Associate Program Director, Mathematics, Science, and Technology Program
    Oakland, CA
  • Robert Pool
    Tallahassee, FL
  • Jennifer Verrier
    Administrative Assistant, Evaluation Research Program
    Washington, DC

Council Of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) Staff

  • Rolf Blank
    Director, Education Indicators
    Washington, DC