Meeting of August 2 - 4, 2023

Westin Arlington Gateway 801 North Glebe Road Arlington, VA 22203 (703) 717-6200



AGENDA

Wednesday, August 2: 3:20 pm - 6:00 pm (EDT)

3:20 – 4:20 pm Fitzgerald Ballroom ABC	Executive Committee Meeting The Honorable Beverly E. Perdue, Chair
4:30 – 6:00 pm Fitzgerald Ballroom ABC	Practical Implications of Al for Teaching and Learning Kristen DiCerbo, Chief Learning Officer, Khan Academy

Thursday, August 3: 8:30 am - 6:00 pm (EDT)

Welcome
Approval of August 2023 Agenda
Approval of May 2023 Minutes
The Honorable Beverly E. Perdue, Chair
ACTION: Nomination of Vice Chair for 2023-24
Carey Wright, Executive Committee
Executive Director Remarks
Lesley Muldoon, Executive Director
Break
NAEP Budget (CLOSED)
Peggy Carr, Commissioner, National Center for Education Statistics
Daniel McGrath, National Center for Education Statistics
NAEP Modernization and Budget Implications (CLOSED)
Peggy Carr
Daniel McGrath, NCES

11:30 – 11:45 am	Break
11:45 am – 1:30 pm	WORKING LUNCH: Governing Board Priorities for NAEP Assessment Schedule Andrew Ho, Charles William Eliot Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education and National Assessment Governing Board Member 2012-2020 Terry Mazany, Chief Collaboration Officer, Collaboratory and National Assessment Governing Board Member 2012-2020, Board
	Chair 2014-2017
1:30 – 2:00 pm	Framing Small Group Discussions on Assessment Schedule Lesley Muldoon
2:00 – 3:25 pm	Small Group Discussions
Hemingway 1	Michael A. Pope
Hemingway 2	Ron Reynolds
Hemingway 3	Nardi Routten
3:25 – 3:35 pm	Break
3:35 – 4:00 pm	Small Group Debrief
Fitzgerald Ballroom ABC	Michael A. Pope
	Ron Reynolds
	Nardi Routten
4:00 – 4:45 pm	Recommendation on the Future of the NAEP Technology and Engineering Literacy Assessment Alice Peisch, Vice Chair
4:45 – 5:15 pm	Committee Meeting Updates
2 22.22 2	Alice Peisch, Vice Chair, Executive Committee
	Patrick Kelly, Chair, Assessment Development Committee
	Suzanne Lane, Chair, Committee on Standards, Design and Methodology
	Reginald McGregor, Chair, Nominations Committee
	Tyler Cramer, Member, Reporting and Dissemination Committee
5:15 – 6:00 pm	Member Discussion Bev Perdue

Friday, August 4: 8:30 am – 3:00 pm (EDT)

8:30 – 11:00 am Hemingway 1	Assessment Development Committee Meeting
9:00 – 11:00 am Hemingway 2, 3	Committee on Standards, Design and Methodology Meeting
11:00 – 11:15 am	Break
11:15 am – 12:45 pm Fitzgerald Ballroom ABC	Discussion of Proposed 2028 NAEP Science Assessment Framework Patrick Kelly, Chair, Assessment Development Committee Aneesha Badrinarayan, Panel Leadership Team Jenny Christian, Panel Leadership Team Nancy Hopkins-Evans, Panel Leadership Team Joseph Krajcik, Panel Leadership Team
12:45 – 2:15 pm	WORKING LUNCH: Opportunities and Challenges for Artificial Intelligence and Large-Scale Assessment Peggy Carr
	Susan Lottridge, Chief Scientist, Natural Language Applications, Cambium Assessment
	Emmanuel Sikali, NCES
	Matthias von Davier, Moran Professor in Education, Executive Director, TIMSS & PIRLS International Study Center, Boston College
2:15 – 2:25 pm	ACTION: NAEP Technology and Engineering Literacy Assessment Patrick Kelly
2:25 – 2:35 pm	ACTION: Resolution on NAEP Linking Studies Rick Hanushek, Linking Studies Working Group
2:35 – 3:00 pm	Departing Members' Farewell Remarks

FUTURE QUARTERLY BOARD MEETING DATES AND LOCATIONS

November 16 – 17, 2023	Washington, DC Area	
February 29 – March 1, 2024	TBD	
May 16 – 17, 2024	TBD	
August 8 – 9, 2024	TBD	
November 14 – 15, 2024	TBD	



Governing Board Members 2022 - 2023

Honorable Beverly Perdue, Chair

Former Governor – Democrat North Carolina New Bern, North Carolina

Representative Alice Peisch, Vice Chair

State Legislator – Democrat
Massachusetts House of Representatives
Wellesley, Massachusetts

Honorable Haley Barbour

General Public Representative Founding Partner BGR Group Yazoo City, Mississippi

Alberto M. Carvalho

Local School Superintendent
Superintendent
Los Angeles Unified School District
Los Angeles, California

Tyler W. Cramer

General Public Representative CEO and Executive Manager Remarc Associates LLC San Diego, California

Christine Cunningham

Curriculum Specialist
Professor of Education and Engineering
College of Education
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, Pennsylvania

Frank Edelblut

Chief State School Officer
Commissioner
New Hampshire Department of Education
Concord, New Hampshire

Viola Garcia

Local School Board Member Aldine Independent School District Houston, Texas

Eric Hanushek

Testing and Measurement Expert Hanna Senior Fellow Hoover Institution Stanford, California

Patrick L. Kelly

Grade 12 Teacher
AP U.S. Government and Politics
Richland School District 2
Columbia, South Carolina

Anna King

General Public Representative Former President National PTA Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Suzanne Lane

Testing and Measurement Expert Professor of Research Methodology University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Scott Marion

Testing and Measurement Expert
President and Executive Director
The National Center for the Improvement of
Educational Assessment, Inc.
Dover, New Hampshire

Reginald McGregor

Business Representative Vice President – Government Relations Rolls Royce Corporation Indianapolis, Indiana

Michael A. Pope

Grade 8 Teacher
Zama American Middle School
Camp Zama
Dept. of Defense Education Agency
Sagamihara, Japan

Julia Rafal-Baer

General Public Representative Managing Partner ILO Group Cranston, Rhode Island

Ron Reynolds

Nonpublic School Administrator / Policymaker Executive Director California Association of Private School Organizations Van Nuys, California

Nardi Routten

Grade 4 Teacher Creekside Elementary School New Bern, North Carolina

Dilhani Uswatte

Elementary School Principal
Principal
Rocky Ridge Elementary School
Hoover, Alabama

Martin R. West

State School Board Member
Member, Massachusetts Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education
Malden, Massachusetts

Representative Mark White

State Legislator – Republican Tennessee House of Representatives Nashville, Tennessee

Grover J. "Russ" Whitehurst

Curriculum Specialist Professor Emeritus Stony Brook University Fort Myers, Florida

Carey M. Wright

Chief State School Officer
Former State Superintendent
Woodstock, Maryland

Ex-officio Member

Mark Schneider

Director
Institute of Education Sciences

National Assessment Governing Board

Committee Structure 2022-2023

Assessment Development Committee

Chair Patrick Kelly

Vice Chair Christine Cunningham

Frank Edelblut Viola Garcia

Reginald McGregor Nardi Routten Dilhani Uswatte

Sharyn Rosenberg (Staff)

Reporting and Dissemination Committee

Chair Alberto Carvalho Vice Chair Marty West

Tyler Cramer Anna King Julia Rafal-Baer Ron Reynolds Mark White

Laura LoGerfo (Staff)

Committee on Standards, Design and Methodology

Chair Suzanne Lane Vice Chair Carey Wright

Rick Hanushek
Scott Marion
Alice Peisch
Michael Pope
Russ Whitehurst

Rebecca Dvorak (Staff)

Nominations Committee

Chair Reginald McGregor

Tyler Cramer
Viola Garcia
Suzanne Lane
Scott Marion
Alice Peisch
Ron Reynolds
Nardi Routten

Tessa Regis (Staff)

Elizabeth Schneider (Staff)

Executive Committee

Chair, Beverly Perdue Vice Chair, Alice Peisch Alberto Carvalho Christine Cunningham

Haley Barbour Patrick Kelly Suzanne Lane Reginald McGregor

Marty West Carey Wright

Matt Stern (Staff)