NAGB Header Image

State Policy and TUDA Task Forces

A key role of the National Assessment Governing Board is making the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) more useful and relevant to the public, especially local policymakers and other leaders who oversee education at the state and district level. That effort has involved the creation of two task forces whose members provide us with valuable insight.

As part of an effort to expand involvement and input from state education leaders, the Governing Board, which sets policy for NAEP, partnered with Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) to create the State Policy Task Force. It is charged with providing state feedback and recommendations to the Governing Board on policy areas and projects related to NAEP. The Task Force is comprised of state education agency leaders. This wide cross section of perspectives vested in education has shaped careful and extensive deliberations on many NAEP policy areas. Members are chosen based on expertise and interest in assessment and geographic representation of the nation.

The TUDA (Trial Urban District Assessment) Task Force is a collaboration between the Governing Board and the Council of the Great City Schools, a coalition of our nation's largest urban school districts. The district leaders on the task force share how they use and disseminate TUDA data as a means of understanding and promoting best practices. The leaders also offer feedback to the Governing Board and the National Center for Education Statistics to inform NAEP policies and the TUDA program.

Funded by Congress in 2002, TUDA has collected and reported student achievement data for select large urban districts every other year since 2003. In 2003, six districts volunteered to participate. That number has grown to 27 districts in 2017. TUDA focuses attention on the specific challenges and accomplishments associated with urban education, emphasizing how NAEP results can inform efforts to improve student achievement.

See a listing of our task force members below: